My Fashion Magazine

So I took a module called ‘Publishing’ at Uni and the main assignment was to create a magazine or short book of no more than 20 pages ready for publication. The copy had to be your own work but you could use images from the Internet as long as they were correctly referenced in the essay. However, I did choose to edit most of my photographs. I had to come up with a layout and design the whole thing on Adobe InDesign.

The magazine I decided to create is a fashion magazine entitled Dernier Cri, which is French for ‘the very latest fashion’. I wanted my fashion magazine to have proper content and meaningful stories in them, unlike Vogue, Marie Claire and other popular fashion mags that are simply full of advertisements. My two main articles are on Alexander McQueen’s journey through fashion and the supersize vs super-skinny debate.

So here’s my magazine page by page:

Title

DERNIER CRI2DERNIER CRI3

DERNIER CRI4DERNIER CRI5

DERNIER CRI6DERNIER CRI7

DERNIER CRI8DERNIER CRI9

DERNIER CRI10DERNIER CRI11

DERNIER CRI12DERNIER CRI13

DERNIER CRI14DERNIER CRI15

DERNIER CRI16DERNIER CRI17

DERNIER CRI18DERNIER CRI19

DERNIER CRI20

I like negative space and so decided to incorporate an element of this into nearly every page. I like things to be neat and squared off. Overall I’m happy with my design, I only wish I’d had time to make it full length.

For a bigger, better quality version, or if you’d like to explore my other work, follow this link to my Bechance profile:

https://www.behance.net/maryeblatchford

Until next time, ciao!

2 thoughts on “My Fashion Magazine

Leave a Reply

