Desert Island Book Tag

Firstly, thank you to Cinderzena for tagging me, go and check out her blog! It’s taken me a while to get around to posting this but I seem to have had an incredibly busy schedule lately.

This is the desert island book tag and that means I have to name a book that I think falls under each of these different categories concerned with being stuck on a desert island.

Water – A book you found refreshingly different

For me this is going to be One Day but David Nicholls. I know it’s a popularly read book but the structure is so unique. Emma and Dexter meet on the night of their graduation, St Swithin’s Day, and each chapter of the book tells you what’s happening in their lives on the anniversary of this day for the next twenty years. This quirky, yet linear, structure was refreshing.

One Day

Food – An essential book you can’t live without

The Great Gatsby, hands down. (That’s F Scott Fitzgerald in case you didn’t know). This book pulled me into reading and it’s so beautifully written I feel I couldn’t live in a world where this book didn’t exist.

The Great Gatsby

Shelter – A book that makes you feel at home and safe

Roald Dahl’s The Twits makes me feel at home because it’s one of the first books I remember being read at school. I then asked my mum to buy me a copy so it’s been on my bookshelf for circa fifteen years. I’m a massive Roald Dahl fan; for me he represents childhood.

The Twits

Weapons – A book that is massive and could be used as a weapon

This one has to be Anna Karenina. I really wanted to get through it but it’s just so long I gave up about a third of the way through. I’m sorry Tolstoy.

Anna Karenina

Companion – A book whose characters you wouldn’t mind being stuck on a desert island with

This was a tough one to choose as so many characters I love are murderers. I know that sounds terrible but they’re interesting characters, and what with my recent interest in thrillers and crime novels, they’re becoming hard to ignore. Perhaps I’ll say Sal Paradise from Jack Kerouac’s On The Road. He seems like a lot of fun.

On The Road Movie

Map – A book with an amazing map inside

I’m afraid I’m cheating here because I’m going to say The Hobbit but I only know the map from The Lord of the Rings film. What’s great about this one though is the level of detail.

The Hobbit

Matchsticks – A book that warms your heart

This has to be the classic Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Their lives are just so cute and idyllic – well maybe not Beth’s, but apart from that

Little Women.

Compass – A book that directed you towards your love of reading

I’ve already mentioned The Great Gatsby that would fit perfectly here but I suppose if I had to pick another it would be Atonement by Ian McEwan. I read this in college and these two books combined made me want to study English Literature at University.

Atonement

Flare gun – A book that you would give a new reader to get them interested in reading

Here I think I’d recommend Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It’s fast paced, written in pretty simple language, easy to relate to and just a good plot. (I’ll try and stop banging on about Gone Girl now).

Gone Girl

Threat – A book you were afraid to read but ended up conquering

This sounds silly but I was afraid to read Life and Laughing by Michael McIntyre in case I didn’t find it funny but I read every page and loved it.

Michael McIntyre

SOS – A book that is under-hyped and you want everyone to read

I have a good one for you here. It’s In A Lonely Place by Dorothy B Hughes. I’d never heard of this novel (or the author) before I read this but I loved it. It’s superbly written and has an incredibly intense plot. If you love crime fiction – or even if you don’t but fancy trying something new – then this is the book for you.

In A Lonely Place

Rescued – A book you are anticipating being released

This is a tough one because I’m not usually that ahead of the game to actually anticipate books but I suppose one writer I am looking forward to reading more of is Jessie Burton, author of The Miniaturist. Her second novel is called The Muse, it’s set in 1930s Spain and 1960s London, it tells the story of a young Caribbean immigrant, a bohemian artist and a painting that connects them together. This comes out in July 2016 so not too long to go now!

Jessie_Burton-0398-C-700x875

That’s all from me. See you next time!

P.s Apologies for all the movie screenshots but the photographs are just so good! When they learn how to photograph books in such a creative way I’ll consider including more of them.

8 thoughts on “Desert Island Book Tag

  1. I’m a big fan of Dorothy B. Hughes. Imagine, she competed at a time when in the field of crime literature men were kings. But so did some others. You probably know Patricia Highsmith, and Margaret Millar, who gave stiff competition back then to the male writers. Nice list. Crime fiction is very thought provoking. Puzzles, since there are many mysteries in life. Thanks for the post.

      • Margaret Millar was Ross Macdonald’s wife, he was more well known though she was a great writer in her own right. He created the Lew Archer books (PI) which were very successful. Several movies were made based on them, two portrayed by Paul Newman. He was born Canadian, her as well but they both moved to America. He died in America (California). Try “The Iron Gates” by her, to start with. Dorothy and her books are hard to get ahold of. “A Stranger in My Grave”, “A Beast In View” are two others, though she wrote maybe about 20 bks. You mentioned going through a Crime, mystery phase (?) not sure. But few writers can compare to Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hamett, if you gave them a shot you will find that they have not been surpassed to this day, though Thomas Harris’ “Red Dragon”, is a masterpiece. Don’t be fooled by the film versions, none of them are up to the task of equaling that book, and Ethel Lina White from the ladies of the old days, “Some Must Watch”, was made into the “Spiral Staircase”, nice, and “The Lady Vanishes”, can’t recall if that was the movie or book title but don’t sleep on the Ross Macdonald Lew Archer books they are unforgettable.

      • Thank you! You’ve been very helpful! You’re obviously quite an expert. I’ll make sure to have a look at these people and I’m sure I’ll be ordering some books very soon.

  2. Meant to point out that Ross Macdonald’s real name was Kenneth Millar (said; Miller). Since most of the great books are out of print, try abebooks for the best prices, if you don’t mind used books. Don’t thank me again, just click like will suffice. Thank you for patient indulgence.

Leave a Reply

