My Reading List

My reading list is now getting so long I doubt I’ll ever be able to get through it all – but I suppose that’s what comes from being a University student – all the reading you want to do for pleasure gets put on hold for three years whilst your trawl through stacks of course texts. Needless to say, my list is now long enough for about three years worth of reading (maybe more).

Breakfast At Tiff

Anyway, without further ado, here are some of the titles I am most excited about reading when I hand in my dissertation in May (in no particular order).

  1. Ian Fleming. Okay I know that’s not a title but I haven’t decided which Bond novel I want to embark on yet. I just know I want to read one (or two) just to know what they’re like in comparison to the films we all love. I feel like it’s a rite of passage to read something that has become so famous and been read so widely.
  2. Ernest Hemingway. Again, sorry about the name but I want to read a few texts by this author. I want to read The Old Man and the Sea but that’ll take me no time. I also want to read a couple of his novels to see how they differ from the short stories.
  3. F. Scott Fitzgerald. Only one more, I promise. I read The Great Gatsby a few years ago and fell in love with it. It was my favourite book for a long time, but sadly I never got around to reading any of his other titles. When I have the time I’d love to read Tender is the Night, The Beautiful and the Damned, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Last Tycoon and This Side of Paradise.
  4. Gillian Flynn. Last one, I promise. Having read and fallen in love with Gone Girl I absolutely can’t wait to get stuck in to Sharp Objects, Dark Places and The Grown Up. I’ve just realised what awful names they are, but I’m sure the content will be good if Gone Girl is anything to go by.
  5. American Psycho. Yay an actual book at last. I’ve been wanting to read this for literally SO long. I’ve become a massive fan of thrillers and this year at University I studied a module on crime fiction which I loved as well. This is definitely one at the top of my list.
  6. Me Before You. I’m usually not really into sad books but this looks wonderful, and I want to read it before I see the film, which is out really soon by the way and looks to be a very emotional watch.
  7. The Bell Jar. I feel a text as iconic as this should have been included in my education, A Level English Lit perhaps, but it was not and I feel I’ve missed out. I love Sylvia Plath’s poetry so I’m sure her only novel will be just as good.
  8. Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I think I want to read this just because it is SO famous. Perhaps the film is just as good, I don’t know. I’m not familiar with the story at all. I just feel it’s something I ought to read. Besides, who doesn’t want to read about New York in the 1940s?
  9. The Woman in Black. Having loved the film starring Daniel Radcliffe and heard good things about the stage play too, I’m really excited to read the book. I’ve never read a horror novel before so I’ll be intrigued to find out whether pen on paper really can be scary. Come to think of it, I should probably read The Shining too.
  10. Seven Years in Tibet. I want to read this purely because I love reading about real events and real people. Some people think you don’t learn anything from reading because it’s all fiction, but that’s not true at all. Heinrich Harrer had an extremely eventful life and I hope Seven years in Tibet will teach me all about it. By learning more about him, or anybody at all in fact, your eyes are opened up to something totally different, a life that you could never personally experience. Reading about history is learning (you’ve just got to check how accurate the material is to real life).

The Woman in BlackAmerican Psycho

Tender is the Night

That’s all for today. I’m assuming ten is probably enough for you to get the idea that there is a lot I want to read and they’re all pretty different. I love reading a variety of different books; you never get bored that way. See you next time!

6 thoughts on “My Reading List

  1. A bunch of those books you can read on a reasonably long train journey. Amercian Psycho is a bit dated- a page-turner sure but I don’t think anyone would blame you if you gave up on it once you got to the point where you “got it”. The Bell Jar is worth reading, but it is a shame to read Plath’s prose if you haven’t read the poetry slowly and with attention. I don’t really think of her as a novelist. You can get through this reading list quickly I think. It will be interesting to see what you make of it.

    • I hope it won’t take too long but I’m quite a slow reader. I don’t think I’d ever give up on a book just because you never know if it might have a really good ending (I like not knowing too much about books before I start them so they’re still full of surprises). I’m sure I’ll write a post when I finish each one.

Leave a Reply

