My Under-appreciated Favourites

I suppose this is really just an excuse to write again about some of my favourite books but let’s just ignore that and pretend this is all totally new content.

I believe there’s a lot of books out there that deserve far more credit than they get. Perhaps people have a vendetta against classic texts, perhaps people just have very different tastes to mine, I don’t know, but here’s a list of books I think are under-appreciated.

Just to put things into perspective, The Boy in Striped Pyjamas, Philip Pullman’s Dark Materials trilogy, a bunch of Agatha Christie novels, along with just about all the Harry Potter books and The Hunger Games novels score 4 or above on Goodreads. Don’t get me wrong, these are good books – particularly Philip Pullman’s novels – but they not jaw-droppingly amazing and I think my list deserves to beat them.

Without anymore chitchat from me, here’s my list:

Wuthering Heights – 3.8

Wuthering Heights is the best book written by the Brontës. Having read Jane Eyre (which scored 4.08 on Goodreads) and sort of liked it I wanted to embark on another similar book. Wuthering Heights is in no way similar. It’s better. It’s dark and completely unexpected. In a way it tells the story of forbidden love, but there’s so much more too it than that. In this story nothing seems to run smoothly, and although at times that makes it heartbreaking, it also makes it different; it makes it powerful. What’s more, the writing is beautiful: ‘He is more myself than I am. Whatever our two souls are made of, his and mine are the same.’

Wuthering Heights

On The Road – 3.79

This is a novel that I didn’t particularly like at first; it was only with hindsight that I realised how good this novel really was. Perhaps that’s why it doesn’t score as well as a lot of other travel fiction on Goodreads. To truly realise the magic of this novel you have to understand the context in which it was written. So you don’t have to jump to the Wikipedia page I’ll explain now: Jack Kerouac was a great traveller, he was not a writer. On The Road simply encapsulates his travelling experiences in a novel – perhaps not the best written novel but what better medium to document his life. His writing method is also something to note: Kerouac wrote the novel is one go. He even taped bits of paper together so he wouldn’t have to interrupt the flow of his writing by stopping to load his typewriter with a new sheet. To me that’s pretty impressive.

For the full post on On The Road click here.

On The Road

One Day – 3.75

One Day is the only book I’ve ever wanted to start again immediately after finishing it. For me, 3.75 is a really low score for such a moving and intense novel. The characters are believable and likeable and lovely. I can’t really explain why I enjoyed this novel so much but I really did. I suppose I see it as a novel that really represents life. It’s a romance but it’s not a typical romance; it’s not kissing in the rain and soppy words, it’s real. Relationships have their ups and downs and this novel truly represents the rollercoaster that is life like no other book I’ve ever read.

For the full post on One Day click here.

One Day

Until next time and happy reading! xoxo

5 thoughts on “My Under-appreciated Favourites

  1. I’ve skimmed Withering Heights. I should really read it again. *sighs* The print in my copy is just too small … 😉 I think I liked Jane Eyre a lot better, but then, as I said, I only skimmed it, and I’ve read Jane Eyre several times.

    • Wuthering Heights does take a detailed read – especially Joseph’s dialogue (I mean what is that man saying most of the time?!) And that is a problem with classics isn’t it? I’m currently on the hunt for a copy of War and Peace that doesn’t have minuscule writing.

Leave a Reply

